This website uses cookies to give you the best experience on our website. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more here.

Share


Available on Pro Plan
Share allows teams to manage their Entities and collaborate among themselves, easily sharing information across users.

Ground Rules

  1. Whenever a share action triggers indirect sharing - i.e., sharing another Entity to support the sharing of the current one (e.g. sharing a Dashboard triggers Share Widget) - if previous privileges on the indirectly shared object exist these won’t be overridden.
  2. When a sharing action triggers the indirect sharing of an entity, then:
    • if the user is the owner of that entity, he can decide what permissions are to be given.
    • if the user isn’t the owner, that entity will be shared with minimum - read-only - permissions.
  3. Unsharing an entity with a user will directly impact their dashboard organization, where they will lose access to that entity (i.e., unsharing a widget will remove it from any dashboard it belonged to).
  4. It is possible to graphically distinguish shared entities from self-owned entities.

Sharing Behavior

  • Widget - when a widget is shared, it becomes:

    • available to be added to existing or new dashboards.
    • possible to duplicate it.

  • Dashboard - when a dashboard is shared:

    • any containing Dashboard Group and its widgets will also be shared.
    • it becomes, by default, present in the Shared Dashboards‘ tab.

  • Dashboard Group - when a dashboard group is shared:

    • all of its dashboards and belonging widgets are also shared.
    • it will, by default, be present in the Shared Dashboards‘ tab.

Note: Through the use of visual icons it will be possible to distinguish when there is a self-owned dashboard or widget in the shared dashboards tab and when there is a shared dashboard or widget in the self-owned dashboards tab (differentiating Write and Read permissions).